An Article on Oxalates 

Hello again! It’s been a little while since my last post and even longer since a blog entry but that’s what back to work and school will do to you! I have so many posts and recipes sitting in my head waiting to get out but in the half hour a day I get to myself between when the girls go to bed and I fall asleep on the couch I’ve been having to do our budget so that we may actually buy a house (freaking me out!!!).
Here is an article on oxalates to keep you going. I’ve been avoiding researching oxalates because I just don’t have the space in my brain to take anything more in. I’ve had a feeling this may be a missing link for me as the foods listed as high oxalate are generally the salicylates that have been puzzling me. It’s weird as I can tolerate some pretty high salicylates but lower ones such as sweet potato gives me grief where pumpkin does not. Three leaves of baby spinach gave me a massive reaction where I can eat a few kale chips with no problems.

There are not a lot of the major symptoms mentioned in this article that I experience regularly but I have read in other forums and articles oxalates relationship with food intolerances and histamine issues. I just can’t remember exactly what they are at the moment. So if anyone wants to chime in please feel free!

I am still working this through in my brain but that half hour a day goes pretty quickly when it’s got to compete with budgets, menu planning, trying to find school lunches my kids will actually eat, Facebook, house hunting, and forget the me time of doing my photography course or colouring for mindfulness! My mind is full!!!

Rant over. Anyway here is the article. I quite like this one as it differentiates between actual research and anecdotal theories. I like the advice at the end that this is just an issue for us oddballs who are experiencing problems. It’s not the latest diet craze for those annoyingly healthy people who don’t have to think this much about everything!

Oxalate Good or Bad

Leave a Reply

