Failsafe Lemon Chicken

This isn’t exactly a nutrition packed meal but it is my occasional treat for dinner. Even though it’s Failsafe I tend to react to the citric acid if I’m feeling particularly sensitive.

I serve it with rice and beans which are also occasional foods for me due to the Fodmaps in beans and I think I’m developing an intolerance to rice due to the amount I consume. I tend to develop intolerances to a food if I have it too often and unfortunately rice is one of my staples. I’ve found it helpful to rinse the rice thoroughly before cooking and shorter grains are tolerated better.

For a bit of an added extra I chopped up some garlic and added to the pan while cooking the chicken. It was awesome! This is coming from someone who hasn’t had garlic for five years and I was very excited to get this back in! So for me I think I’ve passed the fructans and galactans groups of Fodmaps.

Ok, get on with it and give me the recipe!! I hate it when blogs just go on and on so you have to keep scrolling in order to get to the recipe 😋

 

image
Crumbed Chicken

  • 4 Chicken breasts
  • 1C Tapioca starch (approx – about a cup but I never remember to measure!) You can also use corn starch/flour.
  • 1 Egg whisked with some water or for those who can’t tolerate egg – 2t Orgran No Egg (heaped) to 4T water (you may need to top this up depending on the size of your breasts 😉)
  • 1C Rice crumbs (approx. – again I forget to measure)
  1. Cut the breasts into whatever size pieces you want. I try to slice mine relatively thinly to make the cooking time shorter and make sure it’s evenly cooked.
  2. Put each of the other ingredients in their own separate bowl.
  3. Coat the chicken first in the tapioca starch, then the egg and finally the crumbs.
  4. You can fry or bake them. I tend to fry them up to seal them then finish them off in the oven. My hubby is particularly sensitive to Salmonella so I always make sure it is well cooked.

Lemon Sauce

  • 1/2C Sugar (I haven’t played with alternative sweeteners but please let me know if you do!)
  • 1T Tapioca Starch / Corn Flour
  • 1 C Water
  • 1t Citric Acid (level teaspoon)
  • 1t Salt (level teaspoon)
  1. Put the sugar, starch and water in a saucepan and mix together.
  2. Put on a medium heat and continue stirring until it thickens. It will turn from white to clear.
  3. Remove from heat.
  4. Add salt and citric acid and stir well.
2 thoughts on “Failsafe Lemon Chicken

Leave a Reply

