Beautiful Byron!

It’s been a while since my last post because I’ve been too busy chillin in Byron!!!

image.png

For my birthday this year I wanted to be able to go to Byron to chill out, enjoy the local vibes and be able to take my girls somewhere to eat where they could pick anything off the menu to eat. I got to enjoy the vibes but with two kids did not get to really chill.  Maybe my expectations were too high or I didn’t look hard enough but I also didn’t find an extensive range of places that the girls could just pick anything off of the menu.

Don’t get me wrong, there was definitely a higher percentage of places that I could buy something for them to eat and I found some really cool places. I still couldn’t find anywhere I could eat anything different but I didn’t really expect it. However I was able to get a steak and chips at the Beach Hotel where they were all too happy to cater to my extreme needs (and didn’t look at me like I am some kind of freak).

If you’re as bad as I am and only down to a few foods and you can tolerate a bit of amines a steak and chips is about all I can eat when I go out. This comes with a lot of caveats and I usually preface it with – “Sorry to be a pain but I have food intolerances…”. Firstly make sure the chips aren’t beer battered (unless you can tolerate gluten) and check which oil they use (be careful with vegetable oil blends). With the steak I have been asking the chefs to cook it in a separate pan so that it doesn’t pick up all the flavours from the grill. Most places are happy to do this for you. The Beach Hotel was one of those places that had no problem with this. I also clarify numerous times that the steak has not been marinated, and make sure it has no seasoning, including pepper (you would be surprised how many times I have to differentiate this!).

Now the girls aren’t as sensitive as me so they could have a few treats. Some great places we found were Bella Rosa Gelateria for Dairy Free sorbet (high in Sals though), Naked Treaties for some protein balls and Santos is my new favourite store!!! I was able to get my Quinoa flakes for an amazing $15kg! The cheapest I have been able to source this is nearly $20kg at coles and up to $30kg in health food stores!

The girls also got to have their first meat pie for a long time from Byron Bay pies who do a great gluten free steak pie at a reasonable price. Also they had great chips and a reasonably priced dairy free smoothie at Munch Juice Bar at Byron West Shopping Fair.

On the way home my husband and I were trying to think of ways we could make a living in Byron!

 

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Byron!

Leave a Reply

